Aarhus University Seal


PhD day 2013

Future talent – future challenge

The PhD Day, 11 January 2013

The day will include exciting speakers, both Danish and international, poster/oral presentations, the Fogh Nielsen Prize competition and the well renowned dinner party in the evening.

As the PhD Day is the annual meeting point for all PhD students, everyone will again be expected to participate.

  • First and second year PhD students are expected to submit an abstract and present a poster
  • Third year or more PhD students should submit an abstract and will either be selected to do an oral presentation or will be selected as a chairman on a poster or oral session.

16 January 2013: Georg Metz' speak

Download the inspirering speak by Georg Metz here.

15 January 2013: List of session winners

Session Name 
Oral 1 Kristian Stødkilde-Jørgensen
Oral 2 Mette Julsgaard Nielsen
Oral 3 Christina Gade Jespersen
Oral 4  Line Gebauer Josefsen
Oral 5 Rasmus Otkjær Bak
Poster 1 Morten Schmidt
Poster 2 Troels Johansen
Poster 3 Christian Lottrup
Poster 4 Anne Fia Grann
Poster 5 Niels Bjerregård Matthiesen
Poster 6 Line Raaby Olsen
Poster 7 Thomas Aagaard Rasmussen
Poster 8 Lise Tornvig Erikstrup
Poster 9 Torbjørn Halle Brøgger
Poster 10 Sarah Holmboe
Poster 11 Susanne Bendesgaard Pedersen
Poster 12 Anne Grethe Schioldan
Poster 13 Jeppe Skov
Poster 14 Helene Myrtue Nielsen
Poster 15 Lotte Andreasen
Poster 16 Sandy Mohamed Ismail Mohamed
Poster 17 Joan Fledelius
Poster 18 Morten Christian Bay Grauballe
Poster 19 Lone Ramer Nygaard Mikkelsen
Poster 20 Steen Fagerberg
Poster 21 Omar Abuyaman
Poster 22 Morten Torvund- Jensen
Poster 23 Helle Kristensen
Poster 24 Henrik Lauridsen/Shivani Joshi
Poster 25 Kasper Hansen
Poster 26 Anne Virring Sørensen
Poster 27 Christian Fischer
Poster 28 Simon Mølgaard Jensen
Poster 29 Mette Ji Riis-Vestergaard
Poster 30 Lars Markvardsen
Poster 31 Lotte Vinther Christensen 
Poster 32 Bochard Zareini
Poster 33 Iben Bach Pedersen
Poster 34 Helene Kirkegaard
Poster 35 Bjørn Bay
Poster 36 Peter Hjertholm
Poster 37 Kasper Grosen 
Poster 38 Trine Nøhr Winding 
Poster 39 Rasmus Østergaard Nielsen 
Poster 40 Therese Juul

Congratulations to all of you!

14 January 2013: Fogh-Nielsen Prize Competetion

The Fogh-Nielsen Prize was divided in three, winner being Kirstine Kjær Kirkegaard (50.000 kr.) and the second prize was shared between Mohit Kothari and Eva Greibe (25.000 kr. each) 


14 December 2012: PhD Day programme

The programme for the PhD Day 2013 is now available. We look forward to welcome you on 11 January 2013.

10 December 2012: The abstract book

The abstract book is now available as a PDF. You may download the abstract book here.  Within the abstract book you may find you session as student and VIP chairman and a map of all the sessions. 

26 November 2012: PhD Day dinner

We invite you to register for the PhD Day dinner party 2013. 

A three course meal will be served, followed by awarding prestigious prizes and a festive speak. After dinner there will be music from the band Park Life. 

The evening will start at 18.00 and finish at 02.00 on Friday 11 January 2013 at Turbinehallen, Kalkværksvej 12, 8000 Aarhus C. Participation fee is DKK 100. The seats will be distributed on a first come first serve basis. An e-mail has been send to all PhD students for registration. 

It is not possible to cancel your ticket and recieve a refund, however you are most welcome to give/sell your ticket to a colleague in case you are detained from participating. Please remember to send an e-mail to Trine Ji Holmgaard and advise your name and the name of your colleague.

22 November 2012: Panel participants

We are happy and very proud to announce the panel participants for the PhD Day:

  • Margrethe Vestager, Minister for Economic Affairs and the Interior
  • Janet Metcalfe, Chair and Head of VITAE
  • Svend Hylleberg, Dean for Talentdevelopment, Buisness and Social Sciences
  • Jørgen Frøkiær, Professor, deputy chairman the Danish Council for Independent Research,    medical sciences
  • Martin Skøtt, PhD student, Department of Biomedicine

1 November 2012: Georg Metz as speaker at the PhD Day

We are very pleased to announce that author and journalist Georg Metz is going to speak at the PhD Day 2013. He will relate to the theme of the day 'Future talent - future challenge'. 

5 September 2012: Fogh-Nielsen Prize Competition

The Fogh Nielsen Prize, which is awarded for excellent achievements in PhD research, is open for applications. The prize is for continuation of the PhD research. Three PhD students will be selected for presenting their project at the PhD Day and compete for the prize. Only PhD students that submit their dissertation before 31 December 2013 can apply. Please note that deadline for submission is 8th of October 2012.

See call and application form (in Danish only)

20 August 2012: We are now open for submission of abstracts

Please submit your abstract here

To login please use the same username and password as you use to access the course calendar.

Remember the deadline for submission of abstracts is the 22th of September 2012. All PhD students are expected to submit an abstract, which will be printed in the abstract book. The maximum number of characters allowed is 1700.

19 March 2012: Professor Timothy Lash is confirmed as Keynote speaker

We are delighted that Professor Timothy Lash, D.Sc., Department of Epidemiology & Prevention, Division of Public Health Sciences at Wake Forest School of Medicine will give the Keynote Speech at the annual PhD Day 2013.